Washington selects 4 Amtrak routes for expansion priorities

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) — The Federal Railroad Administration has selected four routes to provide service ohio Democratic Senator Sherrod Brown of Ohio said Tuesday that there are other state priorities for Amtrak expansion.

The routes are Cleveland-Columbus-Dayton-Cincinnati, Cleveland-Toledo-Detroit, Chicago-Fort Wayne-Columbus-Pittsburgh and Cardinal service serving New York City, Washington and Chicago, which will go daily from its current three-weekly schedule. Brown said in a news release.

Ohio, Amtrak and metropolitan planning organizations will now begin corridor development efforts, including preparation of service development plans, Brown said.

The rail administration will provide $500,000 to each corridor for the plan, he said.

“Good Amtrak service shouldn't be a privilege just for people living on the coasts. “These new routes will expand opportunities, help businesses grow and create jobs, and connect communities across Ohio and throughout the Midwest,” Brown said.

political cartoon

Copyright 2023 The associated Press, All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Source link

Leave a Comment